Audition!

posted on #1
ChrisB
Administrator
Next weekend I have my first proper audition with a local band \o/

They sent me a load of their songs to learn, which I have done and I can play them all well (in my opinion at least). The basslines are very simple, almost all of them are just root notes, playing straight eighths or quarters so technique/ability isn't going to be a problem.

They are all pretty experienced guys who have been gigging together for years so I'm a little nervous about it as I'm going to be jumping straight in to an established band. Anyone got any suggestions or good advice for a complete newbie about to take a very big step?

Chris
posted on #2
RickyMadison
Mitglied
Bring a pack of beer or coffee if it's in the morning ... !

No seriously, you got great skill, even if you do a little error here and there, you'll be able to improvise something else that will fit ... ! And like you said, song we're easy... Learn them first, practice them well with the band, once it's done and sounding really great just put a bit of your '' own sound '' in it !

Good luck mate ! Give us some info about it, i'd be glad to hear some material of this band with you !

Cheers,

-Rick
the t.bone Ovid System CC 100
the t.bone Ovid System CC 100
Condenser Clip Microphone for Ovid System
49 €
iThis widget links to Thomann, our affiliate partner. We may receive a commission when you purchase a product there. Shop besuchen
posted on #3
ChrisB
Administrator
Cheers man! I'm looking forward to it :)

I'm meeting up with them on Sunday evening after work so I'll know more then - I'll post some links here if it goes well...

Chris
posted on #4
simmerdown
Mitglied
good luck!
posted on #5
ChrisB
Administrator
Cheers dude! Fingers crossed....
+1
posted on #6
Dick Supporter
hey Chris!
theese guys should be happy to have you - first, you are a really good bassplayer in my opinion (i still have doubts you really only play for a year, man!)