Home » Forum » Recording and mixing »
GarageBand on iPad

GarageBand on iPad

posted on #1
harmono
Mitglied
I don't believe I have more than Audicity on my PC, however I have GarageBand on my iPad. I was wondering if anyone out there has tried using GarageBand for iPad for wikiloops jams?
I'm not sure how to download the backing track, or upload it etc. I'm new to Apple, and iPad technically.
Do you think it's possible? It would be nice also because I think some of my synths can record the output and it would be better quality than running it to my PC then recording it.
posted on #2
Dick Supporter
sorry, I'm no help on apple,
in case you end up looking for some better PC solution than audacity,
get familiar with reaper, as far as I know one can use the trial version without a timelimit...
Fender AV II 63 TELE RW RED TRANS
Fender AV II 63 TELE RW RED TRANS
Electric Guitar
2.249 €
iThis widget links to Thomann, our affiliate partner. We may receive a commission when you purchase a product there. Shop besuchen
posted on #3
harmono
Mitglied
Dick,

I found Cakewalk Sonar LE install disk that came with some of my equipment. I think it came with my Yamaha keyboard(?). So I got that covered. I'm very close to hooking up the iPad to the computer to record it. I have an EMU USB audio unit that works pretty good. I think all I need is an RCA to 1/4" plug adapter.
I have a Y splitter that splits from an 1/8" stereo to 2 RCA outputs. There are some other things out there, a docking station made by Alesis that would probably work great. Ideally if I could do all this in GarageBand on the iPad it would be cool, so I'm still looking into it.
Worse case scenario I will have to get my Yamaha keyboard out of the closet, which would probably work great anyway. I'll probably do that this weekend.

Thanks.
posted on #4
RickyMadison
Mitglied
Which instrument do you want to record?
Does Garageband allows VST?

Im not sure recording with iPad can give a great quality :/