Home » Forum » Open mic at the Blue Iguana »
Instrumentents and sequencers- differentiate? does it matter?

instrumentents and sequencers- differentiate? does it matter?

posted on #1
BuzzBomber
Mitglied
Does it matter to people whether tracks are sequenced or played by a musician. and does it matter to people how these tracks get labeled on upload?

In particular I have put up two kinds of "drum" tracks. one a loop, looped. the other a recording of me playing for a few minutes. And there are examples all along the spectrum.

So in particular, should I differentiate between these types when posting?

And I am curious as to what people look for (or avoid) in tracks when selecting a song to jam with, whether drums or other instruments.

###########
+2
posted on #2
pconey
Mitglied
Hey Buzz - a fantastic post, and keep up the cool adds!

I think its all about your outlook or attitude to music.

I'm a drummer and percussionist, I can play tambourines, shakers, tabla and many other percs and often use them on my tracks. I've spent 20 years studying, learning all these various instruments, but you know something, sometimes that certain shaker or cowbell just doesn't sound right for a track because of the tone or frequency. This is where loops can come into use. Does that make me a cheat? A faker? no it doesn't because at the end of the day I don't need to prove to anyone if I can play a tambourine or not or Brazilian 6/4 drum patterns, so if people think I'm "cheating" because I've used a loop then I think that's sad. Its still using thought, creativity and imagination, and shows that you care about the best sound / performance thats appropriate for the track, and each track should be treated as such. The very best recording studios and audio engineers will use this approach too.