Home » Forum » Hey there... »
Yet another new guy....and a question about uploads

Yet another new guy....and a question about uploads

posted on #1
WiltonDrummer Supporter
Hi all. I am new to wikiloops as of maybe a week or so ago, and have been reading tutorials and listening around a bit to get he feel of the place. I like it.

This service is exactly what I was looking for! I've been totally away from making any music for a very LONG time (1973 was my last real recording/gigging/playing). Recently I discovered "Playing For Change"...and a combination of the technology in use to make that work, plus the quality of the music kind of "dragged me back in" to wanting to play a bit again. Effectively, wikiloops IS the kind of technology idea that Playing For Change is using to record their tracks. And wikiloops is international, which is really nice too (I've done a lot of international artist residencies over the years).

Quick background.... I'm a drummer, former FT pro. From those days, I'm pretty familiar with OLD time analog TAPE type recording studios and mixing panels and patching and such. (Main career now, I'm a visual artist.)

I have recorded and uploaded my first remix to a base tracks song here... and something happened in the process that I don't fully understand. I've looked in the knowledge base for the answer, but I can't find it. So if someone can clarify my understanding OF the process, I'd really appreciate it. I certainly want to do things "right" on here.

I found a track I wanted to work on. There were TWO musicians that had recorded on that piece. I downloaded the mixed track and the two HD single instrument tracks that were from the other two people. I put them into my DAW, and recorded my addition. Saved the new mix and my new HD soloed track.

Then I went to the upload screen. I followed the prompts best I could, and reached the end of that process. I hit "publish".