Home »Forum»Recording and mixing»DAWS and Mastering Raw Audio (3rd party)

DAWS and Mastering Raw Audio (3rd party)

posted on #1
User Avatar Supporter
I’ve been using VSTS and DAWS for almost two years. Getting the hang of mastering using a handful daws (reaper, ableton, bitwig). Ableton and bitwig come with their own set of fx, mastering tools. They work well with what those products were designed for (vst production, dance music, and cinematic). Recording using audio input, I’ve been using reaper and it too has a default mastering set that works well enough. Problem I’ve run into is reaper is buggy on my mac. I’ve updated et al and the bugs persists. Thought I’d put this up and ask...

What DAW/mastering tools do you use for mostly raw audio and how reliable are those tools? A few gripes I've noticed using the daws at hand is that they are incomplete sets. Example: bitwig's fx presets don't cover a complete spectrum of possibilities, ableton has too many options and is rather a goose chase to use fx, while reaper has an arcane 'cobbled together feel' and rather a chore for complex tasks. I also have at my disposal ardour. I want to like ardour but it seems mired in lots of extra checking and odd placement of buttons. Understanding that the perfect DAW has yet to be coded, I'd rather have a set of 3rd party mastering tools and fx that I could use with any daw. I imagine doing something like recording in reaper (so simple), then exporting stems and mastering in ableton.

I realize that mastering for wikiloops is not the same as mastering for a bandcamp release, but a set of tools in the 300 USD area would be a nice start. Also, for a beginner like me, tweakable presets for plugins like reverb, compression, eq, and multiband a must.
Edited by MikeB on November 24 2021 16:26
Michael Bender
posted on #2
User Avatar Supporter