Home » Forum » Recording and mixing »
Recommendations for recording

Recommendations for recording

posted on #1
wtrjock13
Mitglied
Hello forum

Had a couple of questions about recording/processing etc.
Currently, I am playing my bass through a mackie 402vlz4 (4 channel mixer) into headphones (so i don't wake the baby :)) I keep the bass on channel one and the backing track on the tape in. I will be recording with a macbook air (could use audacity or garage band) and as such i know that i need to use a usb interface. Can i use something as simple as a Behringer U-CONTROL? Would this allow me to keep the tracks separate (i.e. in garage band) so i can eq after or would i just set the levels in the mixer and record the entire track directly?

Total newb to the recording situation so any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Love the loops has made playing way more fun and can't wait to contribute.

Thanks
posted on #2
Dick Supporter
Hey,
in a nutshell, you should be aware that your recording situation is somewhat different to your monitoring situation so far.
As you pointed out, you do a headphone monitor mix with your mixer.
To record that mix, all you need is a stereo interface (2 channel, left/right), but then you will only have a stereo recording and no further adjustment of single tracks.

To record the backing on two tracks and your (mono) bass on a third, you would need a at least three channel interface - but that's a misperception again:

Since you will be able to import the stereo backing into your recording software instead of recording it over again, you are suddenly only in need for a one channel USB input as offered by Behringer to feed the bass signal into the computer.